Mirror Mirror

mirror mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

image

I had this view of myself. And recently I realized it’s not a healthy one. For a while I have been struggling with self acceptance ( not that I’m a bad person), I am trying to accept myself the way I am.

First and foremost I must say that I never knew I could survive without a mirror. I have been staying with someone and for some reason we did not have a mirror for a while. We meant to get one, but we just never did. All that while I solely depended on the opinion of others about how I looked and nice my hair was and all of that.
Most of the reports I got were not exactly positive feedback, so in a way I had this negative image of myself.
image

About a week ago we finally got a mirror. I have been so excited about it. I remember staring into it for the first time in two months. The only thought that came to my mind the moment my eyes got a view of my entire body was

omg…..I look beautiful.

Then I kept staring. I took about two hours just looking at myself in that small mirror. I could not believe the beauty before me. I had totally forgotten what I looked like.
image

When I was done staring, the word reflection was placed in my heart. I had a terrible image of myself in my head not because I did not have a mirror to look into, but because that was what was been reflected to me. The words I heard everyday, they way I was made to believe I looked was what stayed. I’m not saying I did not get any positive feedback but the negative ones, even if they were mere jokes really stuck. At that moment I told myself that the beautiful image I saw in the mirror is what I would always see myself as. The young lady with a banging body.
image

Most of us feel this way, we are really insecure about our bodies or our persons. It really is not about what you are doing, its about what is being reflected and the type of reflection you have accepted and are dwelling on. Its pretty unhealthy when we dwell on negative reflections. We find ourselves sad or moody most of the time and even when people give positive vibes to us, we just reject it. Its really important that we see ourselves as gorgeous and extremely beautiful beings. Self acceptance is pretty important. People would not see you better if you don’t see yourself as the best.
image

Take a deep breath, look at yourself again in that mirror and see only positive things. See that beautiful personality, see that amazing smile, that banging body, the long hair the glowing skin. See someone’s bestie. See the good.
image

you are the fairest of them all

 

Thank you for reading. You can check out my previous posts. Like this for support, share to help others, leave a comment I’d love to know what you think and follow this blog so you don’t miss my amazing posts.

5 thoughts on “Mirror Mirror

  1. β€œ Friendship with oneself is all important, because
    without it one cannot be friends with anyone else in the world.

    Remi.

    Like

  2. Awwww this is really sweet and inspiring…..this is how most people feel about themselves…..you need make up or anything to make you beautiful…..every soul is beautiful…In his/ her own way….you just have to learn to love yourself……thanks tife for the beautiful post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

