Ekiti : conquering the giant (3)

Worrying is the worst thing you can do. It makes simple situations seem extremely out of control. It makes you lose opportunities……funny thing is I’m the queen of worry.

September 5th

The dee- day.

Lola woke me up. According to her we woke up late, she claimed we should have been up earlier. It was few minutes to six and I wanted to sleep badly. I stood up had my bath and dressed up. Funny thing is Lola took more time as she was trying to draw her brows.

*roll my eyes*

We got dressed and left the house with nurse. The journey to Eksu was long, I was just tired and wanted to sleep. It felt like we were traveling.

When we got to the school I was so happy. We crossed over and entered the gates.

image

The school is beautiful but not all that beautiful…I took some pictures. I was not feeling any form of anxiety at all. I just wanted to get the whole thing over with.

image

image

image

image

Oh and by the way I looked very nice.
I was pissed at Lola for putting on jeans…she just amazes me.

image

image

image

image

Lola found her screening hall before I did. I walked back and fort before I found mine. I was so tired. The allocation of centres was  kind of disorganized to me, I felt the school could have done better.
I finally found my hall…it looked nice. All the candidates had a brief meeting with the school authorities before the interview began.

On getting to my hall I found out that the medical applicants were very few compared to other departments. It was dominated by females…I was very calm and collected.

image

image

Seeing the faces of my competitors so to say….butterflies began to perch in my stomach.

My God!! Their faces were freaking serious!

I felt like the only smiling person. Most of the guys looked total medical material… It made me feel somehow. I had to assure myself I looked like a doctor too. The school really did not take our time, the interview was fast.

I was all calm till it was almost my turn. We had a panel that we had to face ( two men and two women), the women looked very strict. I was praying to be accessed by the men. Not too many people came back smiling after their interview.

image

I was sooo sooo scared at this point.

The boys behind me made me feel a little better with the insane jokes they were making out of the situation. When it was my turn I got up, unfortunately for me my leg scratched the chair.

Damn!!! Oh my!!! Ah!!!!

The pain I felt was shocking. I still kept my cool and went in front of the panel. I greeted them very well. As I stood, one of the ladies notice my leg was bleeding

I could feel the blood flowing down!! Ewww!!

image

Why me? Why now?

She handed me some tissue and felt very sorry. That immediately won me the soft side of the panel. I answered my questions with a smile on my face. The panel said they were very impressed with me and loved my outfit.

I walked back took my stuffs and left the hall. As soon as I got out I just thought to myself

So what was all the fear for?

I looked at my leg. Ah! it was something. Lola later made fun of it and said the cut looked like a Nike logo.

image

Chai!! Wonders would not end.

I had a friend around who treated Lola and I to lunch. We had rice and i was annoyed at the quantity and quality of the rice I got for the ridiculous price.

image

image

After lunch we gisted and parted ways with my other friend. Lola and I went back home.

image

image

Ekiti was full of hills. It looked nice and Lola loved them. The governor’s house is built on one of the tallest hill in the capital of the state and can be seen from any part of the capital. It was just lovely.

image

As soon as we got home I went straight to the room to sleep. Boy was I tired!

My phone died I could not contact anyone when I woke up, but I was super positive I had tons of messages. I wanted to leave for Ibadan but nurse and Lola would not let me. They enjoyed my company and wanted me to stay one more day.

September 6th

I am really grateful to nurse. I don’t know anyone who would take a total stranger in for three days and treat them like family. She felt like family. She even reminded me so much of my mum.

I woke up early, had my bath said my thanks to nurse and her family for accommodating me and off I was to Ibadan.

image

I got to the park and had to wait. The bus left about 10:50am the journey seemed faster this time around. I slept a bit in the vehicle. When we got to Ibadan I was so glad. We got here about 2:03pm.

image

I went on to take a bike to my final destination. The bike man was just not willing to bend to my price. I had to speak Yoruba the way I had never spoken and interact well with him before he agreed to drive me.

We got caught up in the rain and had to wait a bit. It was all good to me. My mind was at rest. When I finally got to my destination and I went in.

image

Everyone was happy to see me

I knew they missed me so much even if they would not admit it.

Only bad part is…they did not prepare anything for me to eat.

Honestly, I don’t get the people I stay with.

Don’t miss out on the story read day two here or you can read all the way from day one here

2 thoughts on “Ekiti : conquering the giant (3)

Leave a Reply

